Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
BBS Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists
 
 Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Bolts for torque tube

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> Pietenpol-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pocono John



Joined: 22 Aug 2011
Posts: 115
Location: Stroudsburg, PA

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 3:19 pm    Post subject: Bolts for torque tube Reply with quote

What size bolts did you use to secure the torque tube brackets to the floor? I'm making the flight control pieces now, so any help with the hardware used will sure be appreciated.

Thank you!


- The Matronics Pietenpol-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?Pietenpol-List

_________________
John Cronin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
taildrags



Joined: 29 Dec 2009
Posts: 1532
Location: Medford, OR

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 7:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Bolts for torque tube Reply with quote

John;

I was surprised to not find those called out on the plans, but I can't imagine that anything more than AN3s would be required there. I'm pretty sure that's what is on my airplane, although I can't find any photos that show that. The photos that I have of Ernie Moreno's airplane sure do look like AN3s holding down those brackets. As I say, there isn't a lot of load on that particular part. The tricky part is securing the bolt head to the underside of the floor, if you do them the way the plans call for. The photo of Ernie's airplane seems to indicate that his uses nutplates under the floor so the bolts go in from the cockpit side (top):

http://www.flysquirrel.net/piets/control01.jpg


- The Matronics Pietenpol-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?Pietenpol-List

_________________
Oscar Zuniga
Medford, OR
Air Camper NX41CC "Scout"
A75 power, 72x36 Culver prop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Catdesigns



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 496
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 9:04 pm    Post subject: Bolts for torque tube Reply with quote

I used AN4 bolts

Chris
Sacramento, CA
Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

Quote:
On Sun, May 7, 2017 at 8:51 PM, taildrags
<taildrags(at)hotmail.com> wrote:
--> Pietenpol-List message posted by: "taildrags" <taildrags(at)hotmail.com (taildrags(at)hotmail.com)>

John;

I was surprised to not find those called out on the plans, but I can't imagine that anything more than AN3s would be required there. I'm pretty sure that's what is on my airplane, although I can't find any photos that show that. The photos that I have of Ernie Moreno's airplane sure do look like AN3s holding down those brackets. As I say, there isn't a lot of load on that particular part. The tricky part is securing the bolt head to the underside of the floor, if you do them the way the plans call for. The photo of Ernie's airplane seems to indicate that his uses nutplates under the floor so the bolts go in from the cockpit side (top):

http://www.flysquirrel.net/piets/control01.jpg

--------

Oscar Zuniga

Medford, OR

Air Camper NX41CC &quot;Scout&quot;

A75 power, 72x36 Culver prop

Read this topic online here:

http://forums.matronics.com/viewtopic.php?p=469094#469094



http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?Pietenpol-Listhttp://forums.matronics.comhttp://www.matronics.com/contribution====================




- The Matronics Pietenpol-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?Pietenpol-List

_________________
Chris
Sacramento, CA
WestCoastPiet.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
oldbird



Joined: 23 Apr 2015
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 11:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Bolts for torque tube Reply with quote

Hi all

I used M5 bolts to fix the Castamide bearing blocks to the floor. AN3 bolt is 3/16" which is 4.8mm. Very close. I used stainless T-nuts under the floorboard to facilitate removal if necessary. Epoxy the nuts in place, use Loctite 243 for vibration control. Please see my building log: www.mykitlog.com/oldbird

Happy building & flying
Semih Oksay
Still building in Istanbul, Turkey


- The Matronics Pietenpol-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?Pietenpol-List



IMG_3363 (Small).JPG
 Description:
Rear turque tube bearing
 Filesize:  91.49 KB
 Viewed:  690 Time(s)

IMG_3363 (Small).JPG


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cdawson5854(at)shaw.ca
Guest





PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 11:31 pm    Post subject: Bolts for torque tube Reply with quote

Shear strength of an an3 bolt is over 2000lb. You have two at each end.
How strong did you say you were?

91% done, only 89% to go! Smile

Clif
Bacon - The duct tape of the kitchen.


Quote:
I used AN4 bolts

Chris
Sacramento, CA



- The Matronics Pietenpol-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?Pietenpol-List
Back to top
charlescampbell1924(at)gm
Guest





PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 3:37 am    Post subject: Bolts for torque tube Reply with quote

Yes, I used AN3 bolts
On Sun, May 7, 2017 at 11:50 PM, taildrags <taildrags(at)hotmail.com (taildrags(at)hotmail.com)> wrote:
Quote:
--> Pietenpol-List message posted by: "taildrags" <taildrags(at)hotmail.com (taildrags(at)hotmail.com)>

John;

I was surprised to not find those called out on the plans, but I can't imagine that anything more than AN3s would be required there.  I'm pretty sure that's what is on my airplane, although I can't find any photos that show that.  The photos that I have of Ernie Moreno's airplane sure do look like AN3s holding down those brackets.  As I say, there isn't a lot of load on that particular part.  The tricky part is securing the bolt head to the underside of the floor, if you do them the way the plans call for.  The photo of Ernie's airplane seems to indicate that his uses nutplates under the floor so the bolts go in from the cockpit side (top):

http://www.flysquirrel.net/piets/control01.jpg

--------
Oscar Zuniga
Medford, OR
Air Camper NX41CC "Scout"
A75 power, 72x36 Culver prop




Read this topic online here:

http://forums.matronics.com/viewtopic.php?p=469094#469094






====================================
br> enpol-List" rel="noreferrer" target="_blank">http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?Pietenpol-List
====================================
FORUMS -
eferrer" target="_blank">http://forums.matronics.com
====================================
WIKI -
errer" target="_blank">http://wiki.matronics.com
====================================
b Site -
          -Matt Dralle, List Admin.
rel="noreferrer" target="_blank">http://www.matronics.com/contribution
====================================





- The Matronics Pietenpol-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?Pietenpol-List
Back to top
Pocono John



Joined: 22 Aug 2011
Posts: 115
Location: Stroudsburg, PA

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 5:23 am    Post subject: Re: Bolts for torque tube Reply with quote

Thanks everyone. I appreciate the help.

John C


- The Matronics Pietenpol-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?Pietenpol-List

_________________
John Cronin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> Pietenpol-List All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group