Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
Web Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists
 
 Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pmag diode

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> AeroElectric-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eschlanser



Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2019 1:17 pm    Post subject: Pmag diode Reply with quote

What’s a good way to attach a diode to the Pmag connector? The diode has small solid wires that go to screw down sockets #1 and 6 that also get one 18-20 ga stranded wire in each socket .

- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List



285BA7C0-E9C5-4C33-8D79-79B2A09170FD.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  2.85 MB
 Viewed:  429 Time(s)

285BA7C0-E9C5-4C33-8D79-79B2A09170FD.png



6F8614C3-9404-46E5-860F-DCD028ABED24.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  380.81 KB
 Viewed:  429 Time(s)

6F8614C3-9404-46E5-860F-DCD028ABED24.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuckolls.bob(at)aeroelect
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2019 2:54 pm    Post subject: Pmag diode Reply with quote

At 04:17 PM 10/20/2019, you wrote:
Quote:
--> AeroElectric-List message posted by: "eschlanser" <eschlanser(at)yahoo.com>

What’s a good way to attach a diode to the Pmag connector? The diode has small solid wires that go to screw down sockets #1 and 6 that also get one 18-20 ga stranded wire in each socket .

Does your tach REQUIRE this diode?




Bob . . .


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List
Back to top
user9253



Joined: 28 Mar 2008
Posts: 1451
Location: Riley TWP Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:51 am    Post subject: Re: Pmag diode Reply with quote

A dab of E6000 between the diode and other wires will prevent vibration.
Another option is to mount the diode at the tach end of wire number 6.


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List

_________________
Joe Gores
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuckolls.bob(at)aeroelect
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:16 am    Post subject: Pmag diode Reply with quote

At 08:51 AM 10/21/2019, you wrote:
Quote:
--> AeroElectric-List message posted by: "user9253" <fransew(at)gmail.com>

A dab of E6000 between the diode and other wires will prevent vibration.

I think 'the rub' comes from placing two wires
of differing qualities under the same screw-n-mash
terminal. The smaller wire may not be adequately
supported.

Quote:
Another option is to mount the diode at the tach end of wire number 6.

Or in-line with a technique like this:

[img]cid:.0[/img]

But more importantly, that diode (actually a
zener) may not be necessary.

Quoting from EmagAir's installation data

[img]cid:.1[/img]

Adding the suggested diode depends on
the tachometer being incapable of working with
the stock, 12v tach signal emitted by
the eMag.

Adding the diode clamps the 12v signal down
to 5v for such cases. Do the Tachometer
instructions specifically state that the
input signal cannot exceed 5V?






Bob . . .


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List



9062347.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  87.77 KB
 Viewed:  358 Time(s)

9062347.jpg



9062357.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  217.64 KB
 Viewed:  358 Time(s)

9062357.jpg


Back to top
eschlanser



Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:45 am    Post subject: Pmag and GRT EIS connections was Re: Pmag diode Reply with quote

Bob and all,

After reading the manual on the GRT EIS I conclude that the tach signal should be 12 volts as you surmised. Should have read that first, but then I wouldn’t have seen the clever way you installed a diode in-line. That was worth the post. Never in a million years would I have come up with that on my own.

The clip from Emagair that you posted points to other issues and the reason for a separate thread. And that is how to configure and connect the EIS and the Pmag for the tach signal. Because the EIS looks for one tach signal per revolution and the Pmag generates two tach signals per revolution, one system’s configuration will need to be changed. They are both reconfigurable but I don’t know which would be better/easier.

Also confusing is that Pmags note #1 says to “collect the tach signal from only one Pmag unless your system has provision for two separate inputs.” The GRT EIS has only one tach input but two magnetos can be connected to it. Where do you hook up a second Pmag to a GRT EIS if the instructions to connect are in conflict?

If magneto #1 is working the EIS will read that signal but if magneto #1 is disabled (as during a mag check), the EIS will read the tach signal of magneto #2. Pmag note #2 states that a disbabled Pmag will still generate a tach signal so you won’t lose tach during a mag check. Huh? If a disabled Pmag is generating a signal, how do you not “see” it? What am I missing?

Thanks,
Eric Schlanser
Tailwind W-10 with dual Pmags


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eschlanser



Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 10:22 am    Post subject: Pmag and GRT EIS connections was Re: Pmag diode Reply with quote

Quote:
The GRT EIS has only one tach input but two magnetos can be connected to it.

Correction to above: The GRT EIS does have two tachometer connections.

Quote:
Where do you hook up a second Pmag to a GRT EIS if the instructions to connect are in conflict?


I guess I’ll need to get help from GRT and Emagair to understand how the connections are to be used since each Pmag will be generating a signal even when disabled.

Eric S.


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuckolls.bob(at)aeroelect
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:22 pm    Post subject: Pmag diode Reply with quote

At 01:22 PM 10/23/2019, you wrote:
Quote:
--> AeroElectric-List message posted by: "eschlanser" <eschlanser(at)yahoo.com>


> The GRT EIS has only one tach input but two magnetos can be connected to it.
>

Correction to above: The GRT EIS does have two tachometer connections.


> Where do you hook up a second Pmag to a GRT EIS if the instructions to connect are in conflict?


I guess I’ll need to get help from GRT and Emagair to understand how the connections are to be used since each Pmag will be generating a signal even when disabled.

Eric S.

Just hook up one tach signal. Probability of
loosing that signal is exceedingly low and
even if you did, it's no big deal. Don't mess
the throttle until airport in sight then reduce
power for decent. A tach is about the lowest
priority flight management instrument on the
panel. Broke a tach shaft out in New Mexico
on a trip. I knew that I could never over-speed
the engine in EITHER climb OR cruise at altitude.
So for all practical purposes, the flight from
t/o to approach descent could be made at full
throttle all the way. Brought the airplane home
for repairs in OUR shop.

The eMag ignition outputs a tach signal even
if in IGN OFF condition . . . I'd just hook
up one ign to the tach and call it good.

I've designed a couple of electronic tach
pickoffs for upgrading Beech products to electronic
displays . . . nobody ever worried about the
'single source' driving a 'single instrument'.


Bob . . .


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> AeroElectric-List All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group