Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
Web Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists

Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New Design Schemes and Brownout Operation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> AeroElectric-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wsimpso1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:39 am    Post subject: New Design Schemes and Brownout Operation Reply with quote

I am a pretty good mechanical engineer, but electrics, well, please bear with me as I learn.

Designing up my IFR electrics system, 2 Dynon displays and associated bits, Avidyne, LED lighting, I was all set to go Z-14. Now Bob is talking new scheme to be lighter, easier to build, maintain, and fly. I do not feel like I can really judge what is needed and not, how to pick, etc. Done the reading, just not experienced...

In the process, I have figured out that I need 30 amps continuous to turn on everything and a few more amps to transmit. Hey, there are alternators at B&C that can make Plan B just turn on the standby alternator and motor on. Cool!

Now to getting it cranked up without rebooting the electro-whizzies. Dynon makes backup batteries. Avidyne has yet to answer on how they prefer to avoid brownout reboots. Then we have brownout bus designs with relays and even have advice to use DC-DC converters to keep 12VDC at the boxes. Remember, I am an ME, my electric savvy is puny. Given the current state of knowledge, are we better off with a 7-10 AH battery and the brownout bus or with the boosters, or even both? Anybody have some brands and model numbers that are known to be pretty reliable for these DC-DC gadgets?