Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
Web Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists

Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Primary Power Diagram RV-14
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> AeroElectric-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mudfly

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 7:09 am    Post subject: Primary Power Diagram RV-14 Reply with quote

After many hours of reviewing diagrams from The AeroElectric Connection, I have arrived at the following "Initial Concept" for my RV14A project.
I am not experienced in airplane electrical design so any help with poor
design or possible safety concerns is appreciated.
Basic design features and goals:

*B&C Pri alternator will connect to battery contactor output side.

*B&C Stby alternator will connect to battery contactor input side.
In the event of Pri Alt failure, and after a minute of thought, the three
position (On-Off-On) ALT switch will be placed to the STBY ALT position. If amp loading is within stby alt capabilities, flight will continue if no secondary issues are observed. If load shed reqd, three position (On-Off-On) BATT/ESNTL switch will be placed to ESNTL position and, if dark stormy
night, flight will Land as Soon as Practical. IF, I'm having a bad day and, for whatever reason (dual alt failure, electrical smoke/fire, etc), I need to shut
off battery and alternators, the two TCW IBBS batts should pick up essential systems and I will Land as Soon as Possible. IF, I'm having a really bad day and smoke/fire /fumes continue, I will secure battery, alternators,
STBY Bats, and get down as best I can using the AV-30 stand-by flight
display.

*Hot Battery Bus -This bus is hot anytime battery is connected. It is located