Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
Web Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists

Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RV7A vs RV9A

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> RV7-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rafael(at)gforcecable.com

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 4:19 pm    Post subject: RV7A vs RV9A Reply with quote

Although I’ve been flying for over 29 years, I’m about to become a new builder. I’m evaluating the merits of the RV9A and the RV7A. My interests are for an airplane that would carry my wife and I on trips from South Carolina to the Midwest and occasionally to the West coast. Aerobatics are not a priority, although, if I build the 7, I would like to dip my toe into this type of flying.

A couple of questions:

Which airplane makes a better IFR platform? I imagine that the 9 would probably be less responsive (more stable?). Would the 7 behave better in the bumps (higher wing loading).

If I build the 7, the 180hp, not available in the 9, would get you higher faster.

For the long trips, I would like to add fuel capacity. What’s the added cost and weight of adding tip tanks? I’ve heard of 8.5 gal, giving 55 gal total. Would putting tip tanks on the 7 limit its aerobatic capabilities?

This is my first post, so please let me know if this is the kind of questions appropriate for this forum.

Thanks and best regards,

Rafael

[quote][b]

- The Matronics RV7-List Email Forum -

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?RV7-List
klwerner(at)comcast.net