Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
Web Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists

Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RV7-List Digest: 1 Msgs - 05/10/06

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> RV7-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jack.lockamy(at)navy.mil

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 6:49 am    Post subject: RV7-List Digest: 1 Msgs - 05/10/06 Reply with quote

I think your statement would have been more correctly stated by saying...."you would be one of those "SMART builders"... by going with a Quickbuild rather than slow build...not an "inexperienced builder".

My RV-7A kit (#71103) was a quickbuild and was my third aircraft. I'm no expert but I'm also not a novice. I realized (as many others do) that going with a Quickbuild kit is the only way to go! The cost difference in the big scheme of things (about $8K extra for my wings and fuselage) was actually well worth the extra money, saved lots of time at about $8 p/hr for foreign labor by my calculations). I live alone and would have to have a buddy/friend stop by and help me shoot most of those rivets if going slow build. The workmanship of the QB kits is amazing! I nor any of my RV buddies could find a single rivet not driven properly (I can't say the same for those rivets I had to install Smile. I also agree with your statement that there is still a tremendous amount of work the builder will still have to complete (51%?) and as we all know, finishing is approx. 90% of the project.

Inexperienced builders go QB....no way! Smart builders...YES!!!

My two cents,
Jack Lockamy
Camarillo, CA
RV-7A N174JL 180 hrs and FLYING!
www.jacklockamy.com

--

- The Matronics RV7-List Email Forum -